beamjockey (beamjockey) wrote,

2015 John M. Higgins Award: The Finalists

The S. I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University has announced the finalists for their annual Mirror Awards. These awards honor "the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit."

As the John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting is named for my late brother, I am grateful to the Newhouse School and to the award's donors for keeping John's name in the minds of his fellow journalists. And I always take an interest in the Newhouse School's announcements.

The finalists for the 2015 Higgins Award are these:

Bryan Burrough, Sarah Ellison, and Suzanna Andrews, "The Snowden Saga: A Shadowland of Secrets and Light," Vanity Fair

Nicholas Carlson, "What Happened When Marissa Mayer Tried to Be Steve Jobs," The New York Times Magazine

John McDuling, "Why the music industry is trying – and failing – to crush Pandora," Quartz

David Sirota, "The Wolf of Sesame Street: Revealing the secret corruption inside PBS’s news division," PandoDaily

Brandy Zadrozny, "He Bullies Kids and Calls It News," The Daily Beast

Congratulations to the finalists! The award ceremony will take place on Thursday, 11 June, at Cipriani 42nd Street in New York.
Tags: award, higgins
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.